Prime Minister announces Mate Ma’a Tonga squad for Kiwi Test

18 June 2022

Nuku’alofa – The Prime Minister, Honourable Hu’akavameiliku has announced a strong 25-member Mate Ma’a Toga Rugby League squad to prepare for the one-off Test against the New Zealand Kiwis at Mount Smart Stadium in Auckland on June 25.

The announcement was made at a press conference held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ conference room here in Nuku’alofa yesterday, June 15.

The players selected were from the National Rugby League competition in Australia and the New Zealand Warriors.

Coach Kristian Woof is unavailable because his St Helens team is currently playing in the Super Rugby League competition in Great Britain.

This includes Daniel Tupou and Kotoni Staggs.

“We have named them in the squad but they have to confirm,” Hon Hu’akavameiliku said.

He said the country was behind the team and wished them well.

“We extend to them our best wishes and prayers that they will do well,” he added.

Here is the Mate Ma’a Tonga squad:

Toluta’u Koula – Manly-Warrington Sea Eagles

Daniel Tupou – Sydney Roosters

Siosifa Talakai – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Mosese Suli – St George Illawarra Dragons

Sione Katoa – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Kotoni Staggs – Bribane Broncos

Talatau Amone – St George Illawarra Dragons

Siosiua Taukei’aho – Sydney Roosters

Siliva Havili – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Addin Fonua-Blake – New Zealand Warriors

Sitili Tupouniua – Sydney Roosters

Keaon Koloamatangi – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Jason Taumalolo – North Queensland Cowboys

Soni Luke – Penrith Panthers

Haumole Olakau’atu – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Tevita Pangai Jr. – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Tevita Tatola – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Moeaki Fotu’aika – Gold Coast Titans

Will Penisini – Parramatta Eels

Isaiva Katoa – Penrith Panthers

Andrew Fifita – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Joe Ofahengaue – West Tigers

Starford To’a – West Tigers

Christian Tu’ipulotu – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Eliesa Katoa – New Zealand Warriors

The Minister for Internal Affairs (Sports), Hon Sangster Saulala and the Minster for Economic Development and Trade Hon Dr Viliami Latu will be present at the match to represent Government.